Cult TV Awards 2015

Voted for by appreciators of cult television, Doctor Who has once more in 2015 showed its continuing popularity. The first season of Peter Capaldi’s adventures cruised through this year’s Cult TV Awards by picking up top gongs, as well as many for those associated with the programme. Ratings may appear to tell a different story, but these results show that those looking for a hero rather than a heart-throb can appreciate the quality of what the full 12th incarnation has to offer. And the late Patrick Troughton became the sixth star to play the Time Lord to be added to the ‘Hall of Fame – Actor’ category.

Also of note was that Game of Thrones finally appeared on the Cult TV fandom radar, having never previously won an award, and walking away with the ‘Best Returning Premium Channel Series’ prize for its fifth season. Of the new shows coming out between September 2014 and August 2015, The Flash and Gotham, both based on characters from the DC Comics universe, were those that picked up prizes.

The works of Gerry and Sylvia Anderson also continued to be recognised by the Cult TV Awards, with Steve Zodiac from Fireball XL5 added to the Hall of Fame for ‘Animated Character’, actress Wanda Ventham, one of the female leads in UFO, added to the Actress Hall of Fame, and the documentary “Filmed in Supermarionation” was hailed as the ‘Blu-ray/DVD Presentation of the Year’.

Voted for by members of the Cult TV website, this year 27 categories were contested. An initial ‘nominations’ round allowed voters to decide on the five nominees in each category, with the voting ballot itself then following.

Supernatural mini-series “The Enfield Haunting” was a three episode success for Sky Living, with its ratings being the highest ever for the channel. It should therefore be no surprise that it picked up the ‘Best TV Mini-Series or Special’ Award. And despite having run for seven seasons and 151 episodes, The Mentalist was still considered ‘The Show They Should Not Have Cancelled’.

In terms of top gong, the ‘Hall of Fame – Series’ went to the short-run 2002-2003 Joss Whedon-helmed Firefly. Having had its own feature film spin-off, “Serenity” in 2005, those original 14 episodes still have a very loyal following. Cult TV voters had previously awarded it the ‘Best New Satellite Series’ for 2002/3, and actress Morena Baccarin gained the ‘Breakthrough Performance’ award the same year for her work on the show as Inara Serra.

Our grateful thanks to everyone who voted, which helped to continue making our Awards relevant and truly representative of our niche within the overall viewing public.




Best New Premium Channel Series

The Flash


Best New Free-To-Air Series



Best Returning Premium Channel Series

Game of Thrones


Best Returning Free-To-Air Series

Doctor Who


Best TV Mini Series or Special

The Enfield Haunting


Show They Should Not Have Cancelled

The Mentalist


Best Guest Appearance

Michelle Gomez (Doctor Who)


Breakout Performance

Robin Lord Taylor (Oswald Cobblepot - Gotham)


Best New Title Sequence

The Flash


Best Blu-ray or DVD presentation

Filmed in Supermarionation – Box Set (Network)


Cult Personality

Mark Gatiss


Hall of Fame - Series



Hall of Fame - Actor

Patrick Troughton


Hall of Fame - Actress

Wanda Ventham


Hall of Fame - Director

Edgar Wright


Hall of Fame - Producer

Alan J W Bell


Hall of Fame - Writer

Mark Gatiss


Hall of Fame - Music

Alexander Courage (Star Trek, Lost In Space, Daniel Boone)


Hall of Fame - Special Effects

William Purcell (Sleepy Hollow, Under the Dome, Revolution)


Hall of Fame - Costumes

Rupert Jarvis (Doctor Who, The Goodies)


Hall of Fame - Hero

John Sheridan (Babylon 5)


Hall of Fame - Villain

The Hooded Claw (Penelope Pitstop)


Hall of Fame - Animated Character

Steve Zodiac (Fireball XL5)


Hall of Fame - Advert

The Milky Bar Kid (Milky Bar)


Hall of Shame - Worst Line of Dialogue

"If anything happens to Porthos, I'll be the one watering their Alvera Trees!” (Archer, Enterprise “Night In Sickbay”)


Hall of Shame - Continuity Clanger

Lister having his appendix removed more than once (Red Dwarf - “Thanks for the Memory” and “Legion”)


Hall of Shame - Worst Special Effect

The Slyther (Doctor Who “The Dalek Invasion of Earth”)